Thankful Thursday

on

Recently I’ve been reading Colossians 3:12-17. In this passage, Paul writes about the nature of how Christians ought to be if they are changed by the Holy Spirit.  What struck me in this passage was how many times thankfulness was mentioned.

And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God.  And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

This week I struggled to see a spirit of thankfulness in my heart.  I considered rattling off all my possessions in order to appear thankful in my heart, but realized that’s not truly a spirit of thankfulness.  A spirit of thankfulness is that feeling of admiration and indebtedness that flows from the heart.  In many ways my heart was so cold, even seeing what I should be thankful for was a struggle.

As I was reading John Piper I read a quote by Jonathan Edwards who quoted, “It appears that all that is ever spoken of in the Scripture as an ultimate end of God’s works is included in that one phrase, the glory of God.” Piper adds “That is why we exist – to see, and rejoice in and reflect the value of the glory of God.”

So I began writing and reflecting on what makes God worthy for me to praise, worthy to be thanked.  Here is what I wrote this week that I wanted to share this Thankful Thursday:

I am chosen.  I am beloved.  I have the words of Christ to dwell in me.  I have the Spirit of the Everlasting Father to help me.  I have access to God through Jesus.

As messed up as I am, I am completely forgiven.  I am thankful I have a God that doesn’t leave me where I am but encourages and loves me more completely than I can fathom.

I have a God who created a world and everything in it, who can still say that he knows the very hairs on my head.

I have a book that I can run to when I’m confused, lonely, overwhelmed, or even joyful.

I have eternity with God to look forward to and place my hope in. I also can have peace in this jacked up world we live in.

I have been given a godly husband and Christian community that I never dreamed I would have, or frankly even knew that I needed.

How crazy is it that God would look down on me with favor and love? I can only spend my life praising and thanking him for that gift.

There truly is none like God. For that fact alone, I am thankful.

What are you thankful for? Do you struggle with it? Please share in the comments below.

Leave a comment